You are here

Join NIWRC’s 2019 VAWA Twitter Storm on the 1st Tuesday of the Month!

NON FEDERAL FUNDED MOMENT-

TWITTER:

Join the National Indigenous Women’s Resource Center (@NIWRC) on Twitter on the 1st Tuesday of the month until VAWA is put to vote!  June 4th will mark two months since the House passed H.R. 1585, the Senate needs to act NOW. 

Join us in tweeting for one hour on the following Tuesdays:

  • Tuesday, June 4th, 2019 at 11am AKST/ 12pm PST/ 1pm MST/ 2pm CST/ 3pm EST
  • Tuesday, July 2nd, 2019 at 11am AKST/ 12pm PST/ 1pm MST/ 2pm CST/ 3pm EST
  • Tuesday, August 6th, 2019 at 11am AKST/ 12pm PST/ 1pm MST/ 2pm CST/ 3pm EST

Feel free to design your own tweet or use any or all of the sample tweets provided below.  The goal is to generate as much buzz as possible on the fight for VAWA in the Senate. Thank you for your efforts in raising awareness!

Background on VAWA 2019:

On April 4, 2019, the House passed H.R. 1585 to reauthorize the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA).  It has been over 50 days since the House passed H.R. 1585 to reauthorize the Violence Against Women Act and the Senate has yet to take action to reauthorize this important legislation.  We are calling for the Senate to act NOW and vote on the House version of VAWA!  

It is well documented that Native women are disproportionately impacted by violence.   More than 4 in 5 American Indian and Alaska Native women (84.3%) have experienced violence in their lifetime, including:

  • 56.1% who have experienced sexual violence
  • 55.5% who have experienced physical violence by an intimate partner
  • 48.4% who have experienced stalking
  • 66.4% who have experienced psychological aggression by an intimate partner (NIJ, 2016)

Since its enactment in 1995, each reauthorization of VAWA, has resulted in significant victories in support of the tribal authority and secured resources needed for increasing the safety of Native women across the United States.

H.R. 1585 continues to build on these victories by:

  • Restoring tribal jurisdiction over non-Indians for specific crimes involving children and elders, sexual violence, stalking, sex trafficking, obstruction of justice, and assaults against law enforcement and corrections personnel
  • Creating a $3 million authorization for DOJ’s Tribal Access Program (TAP)
  • Directing the Government Accountability Organization (GAO) to submit a report on the response of law enforcement agencies to reports of missing or murdered Indians, including recommendations for legislative solutions.
  • Changing the definition of land eligible for a tribe’s jurisdiction to include all land within any Alaska Native village, for the Alaska tribal jurisdiction pilot project.

These important enhancements are needed NOW to protect Native women and children!  Call on your Senator to take action on VAWA.

Please use the following tweets or design your own!

KEY SENATOR TARGET TWEETS:

OTHER TWEETS:

  • @SenatorHandle, the Senate must pass a bill with the same tribal provisions as H.R.1585 to protect Native survivors!#VAWA19 #VAWA4ALL #HR1585 pic.twitter.com/yvYTOe1aJH
  •  @SenatorHandle, the House passed #HR1585, a bipartisan Violence Against Women Act reauthorization, 2 months ago. It is time for the Senate to take action and pass this enhanced bill to protect survivors' rights. #VAWA19 #VAWA4ALL #HR1585 pic.twitter.com/OP3yQJauYg
  • Native Survivors Can't Wait! Reauthorize VAWA now! Pass a Senate HR1585 companion.  #VAWA19 #VAWA4ALL #HR1585 pic.twitter.com/X3BJLZBsZF
  • Violence doesn’t discriminate and neither should our laws! Support #VAWA! Ensure Native women have access to justice on tribal lands! #VAWA19 #VAWA4ALL #HR1585 pic.twitter.com/yvYTOe1aJH
  • #VAWA4ALL Native survivors deserve justice! Please support a Senate companion to #HR1585 @SenatorHandle pic.twitter.com/OP3yQJauYg
  • @SenatorHandle Can we count on you to support Native women in VAWA 2019? #VAWA19 #VAWA4ALL #HR1585 pic.twitter.com/X3BJLZBsZF
  • 83% of Native women have experience violence in their lifetime, the Senate must past VAWA with enhanced tribal provisions to protect Native women and children. #VAWA19 #VAWA4ALL #HR1585 pic.twitter.com/yvYTOe1aJH

 

Click to share the attached VAWA Twitter Storm promotion card on your social media to ensure we go viral!

 

Share